« District 23

P.S./I.S. 137 Rachel Jean Mitchell

23K137

PK,0K,01,02,03,04,05 - Brooklyn, District 23

121 SARATOGA AVENUE (get directions)

PTA $ not reported
152 students (SY2025-26)
[email protected] budget $1,356,329 ($8,923/student)
Attendance: 88.2%
ELA Course Pass Rate: 71.6%
Math Course Pass Rate: 71.6%
Overview

P.S./I.S. 137 Rachel Jean Mitchell is a elementary school (grades PK,0K,01,02,03,04,05) in Brooklyn, Community School District 23.

Enrollment & demographics
Academic / quality
State tests

Mean scale score on the New York State test for the grades this school serves. The percent is students at level 3 or 4, not a percentile rank. Scores from 2023 on use the current standards and are not comparable to earlier years. High school SAT section scores stay in Academic / quality.

YearGradeTestMean scale scoreLevel 3+4Tested
2026 3 ELA 441 36.4% 22
2026 3 Math 446 50% 22
2026 4 ELA 445 66.7% 6
2026 4 Math 456 66.7% 9
2026 5 ELA 438 33.3% 9
2026 5 Math 447 50% 10
2026 5 Science 435 20% 10
2025 3 ELA 448 33.3% 12
2025 3 Math 460 66.7% 12
2025 4 ELA 450 54.5% 11
2025 4 Math 458 50% 12
2025 5 ELA 447 42.9% 14
2025 5 Math 454 56.3% 16
2025 5 Science 437 31.3% 16
2024 3 ELA 432 30% 10
2024 3 Math 433 36.4% 11
2024 4 ELA 443 38.5% 13
2024 4 Math 461 57.1% 14
2024 5 ELA 432 6.3% 16
2024 5 Math 452 58.8% 17
2024 5 Science 429 5.3% 19
2023 3 ELA 434 18.8% 16
2023 3 Math 428 12.5% 16
2023 4 ELA 443 35.3% 17
2023 4 Math 459 72.2% 18
2023 5 ELA 435 30.8% 13
2023 5 Math 454 58.3% 12
2022 3 ELA 593 33.3% 18
2022 3 Math 592 35% 20
2022 4 ELA 589 33.3% 18
2022 4 Math 594 44.4% 18
2022 5 ELA 602 21.1% 19
2022 5 Math 595 31.6% 19
2019 3 ELA 602 56.5% 23
2019 3 Math 594 37.5% 24
2019 4 ELA 584 20% 30
2019 4 Math 590 27.6% 29
2019 5 ELA 592 22.2% 27
2019 5 Math 588 25.9% 27
2018 3 ELA 596 40.6% 32
2018 3 Math 595 37.5% 32
2018 4 ELA 594 28.6% 28
2018 4 Math 595 25% 28
2018 5 ELA 591 16.7% 18
2018 5 Math 589 17.6% 17
Specialized high school offers
School budget (Galaxy)

Allocated school budget from DOE Galaxy. Fair Student Funding is the main flexible allocation. This is the budget, not dollars already spent. Per student uses the latest enrollment, which can be a different year than the fiscal year. Figures as of 2026-10-23.

Fiscal yearTotal budgetFair Student FundingPer student
FY 2027 $1,356,329 not reported $8,923
FY 2026 $1,315,095 not reported $8,652

FY 2027 line items

AllocationAmount
School Support Supplement$302,376
4K for All$290,508
3K for All$290,508
Title I SWP$125,420
Contract for Excellence FY 09$94,407
IDEA RS IEP Para$42,146
Title IIA Supplemental$41,418
Title I SWP STH$34,325
C4E Class Size Transition$29,125
Contract for Excellence FY 2024$25,390
TL C4E FSF$20,423
Class Size Reduction C4E Phase In$14,699
Title IV High Impact Tutoring Initiative$11,274
TL Arts Early Learners OTPS$10,000
Contract for Excellence FY 2025$9,704
TL 09 C4E ICT$7,108
High Need Support for Title I$3,226
Title I SWP Translation Services$1,635
Title I SWP Parent and Family Engagement$1,254
High Need Support for Title I STH$883
TL Arts Early Learners PS$500
PTA funding (LL171)
PTA $ not reported
PTA/PA fundraising per enrolled student - higher generally means a more active parent fundraising community, not a DOE quality signal.
School yearBeginning balanceTotal incomeTotal expensesEnding balance
2024-25 not reported not reported not reported not reported
Sources & methodology
Other schools in this building
I.S. 271 John M. Coleman (23K271)

Data from NYC Department of Education and NYC Open Data. Free and public - no accounts, no paid ranking data.

Rejoining the server...

Rejoin failed... trying again in seconds.

Failed to rejoin.
Please retry or reload the page.

The session has been paused by the server.

Failed to resume the session.
Please retry or reload the page.